September 25, 2007

Residential Workshop for Caribbean Writers

Cropper FoundationThe 5th Caribbean Creative Writers’ Residential Workshop sponsored by The Cropper Foundation, and organised in partnership with the Centre for Creative and Festival Arts, University of the West Indies, St Augustine, will take place from June 30th to July 31st 2008 in Trinidad and Tobago. The 2008 Workshop will focus on fiction, playwriting, and poetry.

Support for Caribbean Writing is an ongoing programme of The Cropper Foundation that seeks to contribute to the development of the Caribbean on many levels and in different areas of interest. The writers' workshop is part of the Foundation's effort to encourage new Caribbean literary voices by providing practical advice on the craft of writing. This will be its Fifth Workshop in the series which started in 2000.

Writers from Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Commonwealth of Dominica, Guyana, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, and the Caribbean Diaspora (Canada, USA, France, and UK) have competed to take part in these workshops held so far in Grand Riviere on the eastern end of Trinidad's north coast, on Gasparee Island off Trinidad’s northwest peninsula, and in Tobago. From the participants of this workshop series, Lelawattee Manoo-Rahming, Lenworth Burke (Jamaica) went on to win the Commonwealth Short Story Competition and the Jamaica Observer's Annual Fiction Award respectively; Ruel Johnson (Guyana) has won the Guyana Literature Prize 2003, Krishna Ramsumair (T&T) has published a number of short stories in local and international journals; Robert Clarke (T&T) received a Trinidad Guardian Writer of the Month award, as well as an EMA 2003 Green Leaf Award for journalism; and Tiphanie Yanique is now an editor with Calabash and Story Quarterly.
(Bahamas) and

For this year's Workshop, a maximum of fifteen participants will be selected from entries only from the Caribbean. The moderators will be novelist Dr. Merle Hodge (Crick, Crack Monkey and For the Life of Laetitia) and poet and short story writer Professor Funso Aiyejina, winner of the 2000 Commonwealth Writers Prize (Africa) for The Legend of the Rockhills and Other Stories. They are both lecturers at UWI, St Augustine, in the Faculty of Humanities and Education.

Participants will engage with published authors and professionals from the publishing industry, as well as speakers from a variety of other disciplines including history, culture and political science.

Applicants, twenty years and above, are invited to submit application forms and samples of their writing (five pages only) no later than November 15th 2007 to the following address: Writers Workshop, Centre for Creative & Festival Arts, The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine, Trinidad. Works of prose fiction, playwriting or poetry, either published or unpublished, will be considered for this workshop. For application forms and further information, please call Dr. Dani Lyndersay or Ms. Marissa Brooks at the UWI Centre for Creative and Festival Arts, telephone: (868) 662-2002 (ext. 3791/3792); tel/fax: (868) 663-2222 (ask for fax tone); or email: (Subject: 2008 Writers' workshop).

Follow this link for the application form:


Related Post: List of Caribbean writers

No comments: