2014 Hollick Arvon Caribbean Writers Prize

Bringing on new writers

The region’s only prize that seeks to open doors for budding writers will close for submissions on 30th September.

The 2014 Hollick Arvon Caribbean Writers Prize will be awarded to an emerging writer of literary non-fiction, which includes biography, memoir, travel writing, history, current affairs, and non-academic essays on diverse subjects. 

The Prize, administered by The Bocas Lit Fest and worth a total of US$15,000, will give the winning Caribbean-based writer time to advance a work in progress. It includes a year’s mentoring by an established author and travel to the United Kingdom to attend a one-week intensive creative writing course of their choice at Arvon.

The winning writer will also have three days in London to network with literary professionals, hosted by the UK’s leading creative writing organisation, Arvon, in association with Free Word Centre and agents Rogers, Coleridge & White, and receive a cash award of 3,000GBP or US$4,500.

“The deadline is imminent but there is still a little time to get entries in”, says Bocas Lit Fest founder Marina Salandy-Brown.  “To qualify, writers must simply be of Caribbean birth or citizenship, aged over 18, living in the region, and not yet published a non-fiction work.  We require just 2000 words of the work in progress and to see another previously published piece of the same length and genre, but full details are on the website.”

The winner will be announced at the 2014 NGC Bocas Lit Fest, Trinidad and Tobago’s annual literary festival, in April in Port of Spain.  This year’s inaugural Prize for fiction turned up some fine writers from all over the Caribbean and organisers are expecting another exciting crop of new and nearly new writers to emerge.

See www.bocaslitfest.com for application form and more information.



Popular posts from this blog

The Presidential Pardon of Marcus Garvey: A Recap

International Literacy Day: Free Ebooks